35 Things I Have Learned in Thirty-Five Years

My thirty-fifth birthday is just around the bend. Or over the hill. It’s all a matter of perspective. To celebrate this day and to commemorate the last thirty-five years, I want to share a few things I have learned.

1. Never turn down chocolate.

2. Loneliness is not unbearable, but friends are a gift from God.

3. Olive oil is good. Mrs  Tuckers lard is not.

4. Dirt roads can often lead to exciting destinations.

5. Always wash your hands.

6. When you think that you cannot find the strength to go on, you just do.

7. Spending everyday with your best friend is the best part of marriage.

8. Gravity always wins.

9. The toilet paper should go over, not under.

10. Little old ladies tell the ranchiest jokes! Total shocker.

11. Always carry your camera. You never know what moments you may want to capture.

12. Never judge packages by the outside wrapper.

13. Fireflies are magical.

14. Peanut butter and banana sandwiches are delicious. Elvis was right.

15. Nobody can give a hug like your grandmother.

16. It’s a bad thing to put salt on a slug. Or hurt any defenseless thing.

17. Black and white movies are the best.

18. How a guy relates to his Mom is how he will relate to you.

19. Models are photoshopped.

20. Men and women really aren’t that different. Ok, maybe that one is false…

21. Don’t take family for granted.

22. The older I get, the less I remember….start a journal.

23. Travel is the best education.

24. Education is overrated, but not travel.

25. Get a written copy of your granny’s recipes!

26. Spooning is the second best part of marriage.

27. Don’t judge.

28. Do something every so often that scares you!

29. Bowling is not a sport.

30. Listen more, talk less.

31. Art is priceless.

32. Everyone has a story.

33. Grey hair is sexy.

34. The Star Spangled Banner is hard to sing, however, it always gives me goosebumps.

35. Never “kill time”. It is the stuff life is made of.

4 Comments

Filed under fun

4 responses to “35 Things I Have Learned in Thirty-Five Years

  1. kelliebuelo

    I love these! And I agree with them all. Except I’ve never knowingly eaten lard and my grandpas were better huggers. 🙂 You still look 20 but are wise beyond your 35 years! Thanks for sharing, and I hope you have the happiest birthday!

    • designsoiree

      You are my favorite person!! I wish I looked 20! I hope you had a great birthday too, I know that I did! 35 is not that bad!

  2. Dana

    GREAT STUFF SIS!!! I am happy to see that you put #35 in “”…BUT where did you site Benjamin Franklin!? LOL…just kidding! It is great to see your insight…I esp like 33 b/c 8 is soooo true!!! love ya!

  3. designsoiree

    Thanks Sis, do I have to use APA format if I site Franklin? And I love #33 too!

Leave a Reply

