Sunset on Waikiki

Please do not reproduce this picture without the permission of newinnippon.

I feel that I should post an additional picture of the day to make up for my week away from blogging. What a week it was! I was lucky enough to spend a few days in Hawaii with my husband. We were fortunate enough to enjoy several evenings on Waikiki Beach, Oahu. I have never seen such a beautiful sunset! The colors are so vivid and the beach front is incredible photogenic. Imagine! No filters or Photoshop touch-ups are necessary to capture the beauty of Waikiki.

Our hotel was right on the beach, just a few step from the ocean. Across the street has Waikiki Beach walk where you can find a few little goodies to take home with you from the likes of Versace, Chanel, Prada, and Louis Vuitton. Or if your budget is a little more recession minded, as is mine, there is a fantastic International market were you can find the typical tourist goodies you would expect such as shell jewelry, Hawaiian quilts, and flowered shirts. Yes, I bought my share of silly, touristy items. The only purchase I might would rethink is the sea shell wind chime I “had” to have.

If shopping is not your thing, try Hanauma Bay Nature Park for some great snorkeling. I found the water to be a little bit cold ( I like my sea water to be bath tub temperature), but my husband braved the cold and saw several large fish right next to the shore line! The drive from Waikiki to Hanauma Bay is a short one and is very scenic as is hugs along the Oahu coastline.

Today the weather in Northern Japan is cold and windy. But I still remember how warm the sun was in Hawaii. Hopefully, I will return there someday soon. A Hui Hou Kakou, till we meet again.

2 Comments

Filed under fun, Picture of the Day

2 responses to “Sunset on Waikiki

  1. kelliebuelo

    this is so pretty- what good fortune to get to tag along to hawaii with your hubby! that coastline photo is gorgeous. jonathan and i are planning to go to hawaii next winter and i’m so excited! we haven’t done any planning yet, but that’s what slow days at the office are for!

    • designsoiree

      So true! Daydreaming about vacations is my favorite work-related past time. Hawaii is fantastic, I know you guys will love it. Which island are you planning on staying at?

Leave a Reply

